A Little Chat with a Bride-to-Be

June 26, 2009

Molly and I met my freshman year when I joined the Jackson Jills, an all-female a cappella group at Tufts. Soon after, I was introduced to her delightful other half, Andrew. This dashing duo is one of the funniest, brightest and warmhearted I have ever encountered. Although everyone was thrilled when they announced their engagement a few months ago, I don’t think anyone was too surprised, given that these two were pretty much made for each other. I sat down with Molly to discuss the ins and outs of wedding planning, including the good, the bad and the ugly (Eh, who am I kidding? It’s all good with these lovebirds)…

***

How long have you and Andrew been dating?

About 3 yrs. and 8 mos. (3.5 years ish at the time of the proposal)

How did you two meet?

We met at school our freshman year. We were introduced by my best friend from high school, Lindsay, who lived in his dorm. We were both in relationships at the time, so we didn’t start dating until the beginning of sophomore year.

What qualities do you love most about him?

He is the kindest person I have ever met. He treats everybody he meets so well. He cares so much about other people and will always go out of his way to help others out. He is completely selfless. He is also very smart and driven. He works so hard to master everything he does. It makes me extremely proud to be a part of his life.

What do you think makes you two ‘work’ as a couple?

We talk about everything. Even the tough stuff. I share everything with him and vice versa.
How did Andrew propose?

He proposed in the Boston Public Gardens, and then took me to dinner, where he surprised me by having both of our parents waiting at the restaurant!

Were you surprised? What was the first thing that went through your head?

I was completely shocked, but honestly the first thing that went through my head was how much it made sense.

What was the reaction from your family and friends?

I don’t think I have ever heard them scream so much! Haha. Seriously, though, everyone was as overjoyed as we were.

Does being engaged feel different from dating?

Yes and no. Yes in the sense that I feel like I can finally start planning our future together 5 or 10 years down the road with certainty (and it feels great!). But our actual relationship and the day-to-day interaction hasn’t changed. We are still the same Molly and Andrew.

Has it still completely set in yet?

No, absolutely not. Even now that we have picked our venue I still can’t believe that I will actually be his wife soon. But every time I think about it, it’s just total excitement!

When and where will you be married?

We are getting married in July of 2010 at the Nonantum Resort in Kennebunkport, ME.

How big of a wedding will it be?

Relatively large. We both have big families and lots of friends. But we’re excited because we really just want the wedding to be one big party!

How’s wedding planning in general going so far? What are your feelings? Are you hiring a wedding planner or doing it all yourselves?

It’s going well. We are doing it ourselves for the most part, but we do have a wedding coordinator through the venue that well help as it gets closer. Both of our parents have also been very helpful. We’re just trying to take it slow and stay excited about it, as opposed to stressed, which is working for the most part so far!

What has been the most stressful part of wedding planning? What has been the best?

The most stressful part was definitely finding the venue. We saw so many over the past month and I became attached to a bunch of them. But the venue hunting was also the best part because Andrew and I got to really visualize our wedding! It was so exciting!

What was the priority when it came to planning your wedding?

For us, it was entertainment. We really wanted a live band, so we based a lot on that. But a close second was venue. We wanted our venue and the people working there to give the right atmosphere to our wedding and reception, and we were lucky enough to find the perfect place!

Have you found a dress yet? How’s that going? What are you looking for?

No. I haven’t even started looking, to be honest. I’m a little apprehensive because I really have no clue where to start. I don’t have a specific style in mind, but I do have a great team of my mom, sister, and best friend who I will be relying on heavily throughout the shopping!

We’ve all seen “Bridezilla” on TV. Are you afraid of turning into one of them?

Hahah yes, but I know my friends, family, and Andrew will keep me grounded.

What has been Andrew’s role through this whole process? It’s a cliche that men usually stay to the side (except for the cake tasting). I can see him being more involved though.

Yes he has been very involved. He has made sure to make it enough about me and what I want, but he has stepped in to give me his opinion and support when I needed it. I honestly couldn’t do it without him.

When you think of your wedding day, what comes to mind?

We just want it to be one big party. We are so close to our families and friends, and we just want a lot of dancing, mingling, and general merriment.

What are your plans for the reception?

We are planning on having both the ceremony and reception at the same place. Live band, lots of food and drink and dancing.

What kind of advice have you gotten from other people about planning a wedding? About marriage in general?

We’ve heard from many people that we shouldn’t let the wedding day eclipse the actual marriage. We are just trying to keep everything in perspective. I am so excited for the wedding because I think it will be so fun, but at the end of the day I just can’t wait to be Andrew’s wife for the rest of our lives, and I know he feels the same way.

What kind of advice would you give to other girls about planning a wedding (say, for me some day far, far off in the future)?

Well apart from what I said above, make sure that you make it what YOU want. Don’t let anyone else’s opinions get in the way of how you want the day to go. That is advice that I am trying to follow myself, but it’s hard sometimes because everyone has their own vision.

What’s the most important thing to keep in mind through all of this?

What I said earlier: This is about a marriage, a life-long commitment. This is about so much more than your wedding day. Don’t ever lose sight of that.

***

Well it sounds like Molly is enjoying herself, yet definitely keeping sight of what is truly important in all of this (unlike someee people…see yesterday’s blog post). In all seriousness, though, I am just elated for her and Andrew. I wish them all the friendship, happiness and love in the world as they begin this exciting new chapter of their lives together.

Leave a Reply

