“Dating” in College

August 5, 2009

To continue with our intriguing topic from last week, I bring you another viewpoint on dating today from one of my friends at school. Here, she voices her frustration with “the hookup culture” that runs rampant at college and describes how it makes it difficult for her to find someone who is also looking for something a bit more significant than no-strings-attached dalliances:

“As far as relationships go, I am definitely on the more traditional side. I almost wish I grew up in our parent’s generation, when people went out on lots of dates and could date several people at once. I feel like, in college, everyone was either in a serious relationship (which generally goes along with being attached at the hip, sleeping at each others’ places every night, going everywhere as a couple — more of a marriage than a relationship, in my opinion), having random hookups, or just alone. I fell into the alone category by choice, because I’m not looking for marriage right now and I’m also not looking for something completely meaningless. I want to date, to get to know different people without having to feel married, and I want to find guys who are interested in me as a total person and not just as a physical being. But because there are so many girls who do the random hookup thing (which I respect, as long as it’s what genuinely makes them happy, and not just the guy), there don’t seem to be many guys who actually want to date, and it seems like all those guys who do are already taken! I know there are good ones out there, but this hookup culture makes it tough to find them.”

It is easy to understand why this hookup culture can make things considerably frustrating for people who are looking for something a bit more substantial. However, this particular girl has a great head on her shoulders and I admire her for not settling for less than what she wants and deserves. There is no doubt in my mind that she will someday find a great guy. In the meantime, she’s jet setting around the globe and having a ball. Doesn’t sound too terribly rough!

Leave a Reply

