Bridesmaid Dresses…the Horror!

June 3, 2010

Watching Katherine Heigl in the adorably predictable romantic comedy “27 dresses” again got me thinking about bridesmaid dresses.  There is no question that it is entirely typical for the bride to choose grotesquely hideous gowns for their bridesmaids to dress.  Why. Why? WHY? Usually these brides do a wonderful job on selecting their own gowns, so I’m not even sure it’s a matter of taste.  Perhaps it’s to make themselves look better by comparison. Maybe it’s a test to see how dedicated the bridesmaids are as friends. If she’s willing to wear the most vomit inducing dress of all time (and pay for them!) just for your wedding then she MUST love you.  I’ve been blessed, both brides in the weddings I’ve been a part of have made extreme efforts to find flattering dresses.  Without further ado, here are some of the uuugliest bridesmaid’s dresses I could find for your viewing pleasure.

I think this dress would be cute… If it were a halloween ballerina costume for a 7 year old.

I’m speechless.

I think my great grandmother used that pattern to make curtains…

I can just imagine the epic amount of glare throughout that wedding ceremony…

again, I’m rendered speechless…

looks like the ugly stick hit the groomsmen too! I think it’s only fair…

Leave a Reply

