I Wanna Hold Your Hand

June 7, 2010

The famous Beatles love song often leaps into my mind, but I have never stopped to think about how much communication is in such a simple thing. In the American Culture, we use our hands to communicate so many different things. A wave signifies a polite “hello” or “goodbye” and shaking hands signifies a meeting or agreement.  Holding someone’s hand is a powerful method of communication in the language of love. There’s a sense of security that shoots throughout my body when the one I care about takes my hand.  It sends a message to one another and those around you that you belong to each other.  Though simple, it speaks volumes.  An old family friend used to often stress the importance of hand holding in a relationship and told me if a man refused to hold my hand in public– I should refuse his attention altogether. I wished I had listened to her, using that logic would have prevented me from pursuing a few relationships that ended so quickly.

Anyways, all this to say I’m a fan of hand-holding (except while running, that’s just inconvenient and looks all kinds of silly.) It’s an important non-gushy way to communicate affection. I’ll leave you with a little food for thought:

“The ultimate test of a relationship is to disagree but to hold hands”

– Alexandra Penney



Leave a Reply

