My favorite Romantic Moments in Films

July 29, 2010

I know that I’ve mentioned that romantic movies are often unrealistic and absurd. But even I can admit, there are parts in certain movies of the romantic variety that for reasons unknown give me the chills.  So I thought I would compile a short list of these moments that still to this day warm my heart.

Love and Basketball

I love this movie. I love everything about this movie from the characters to the writing. My favorite moment is near the end when the two main roles are playing basketball for the hearts of one another.  This only sounds ridiculous if you haven’t seen it. Each and every time I see this I am mentally and emotionally taken back to the first time I watched this. Each and every time I feel the heart-wrenching pain that Monica (Sanaa Lathan) feels, and wonder if he’s going give up on them.  When he says “Double or Nothing”, my hopes are restored immediately.

Garden State

You know, now that I think if it… this movie wasn’t actually that romantic.  But I still put this in the running as having one of the most romantic moments. Sam (Natalie Portman) is an annoying yet adorable character that jumps into the life of Andrew (Zach Braff).  My favorite scene isn’t even with just them two, but I thought it was one of the most honest and romantic pieces in a movie.  Andrew, his friend, and Sam are clad in trashbags and decide to release any anguish and inhibition and scream into a pit. This moment made me want to let go and scream in the rain with someone I cared about. I remedied that urge by screaming into my pillow. Still cathartic, less rainwater and soggy socks involved.

500 days of Summer

This is not a love story. But it’s a great movie. The most romantic part is without a doubt the scene in IKEA.  Summer (Zooey Deschanel) and Tom (Joseph Gordon-Levitt) traipse through IKEA pretending like it is their home, and It’s hilarious and all kinds of adorable. I will make it a point to do this some day…

Check the clip out here.

Notting Hill

There was a phase in my live where I would watch anything with Hugh Grant in it, and this was no exception.  Julia Roberts plays a character that closely resembles herself – a world famous actress used to getting whatever she wants. Hugh Grant plays a simpleton British Bookstore owner.  She ends up screwing this poor man over (more than once), and upon realizing the error of her ways, she comes back to him. This moment is one of the most honest moments Julia Roberts has ever starred in.

What are some romantic moments in movies that you love? Share them, I’d love to see!

Leave a Reply

